Important Facts You Need to Know About Auto Injuries
According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department, an estimated 200,000 car accidents are recorded annually in the state of Florida, with an average of 650 crashes per day. If you drive around the Tampa Bay area, you’re not likely surprised by these statistics, as it is not uncommon to encounter multiple accidents during any given day. Unfortunately, however, given the frequency at which car accidents occur, the chances of getting into one increases as well.
In light of these statistics, here are some important facts that you need know about auto injuries.
How Much Time Do I Have to File a Claim in Florida for My Auto Accident Injuries?
Filing a claim with your insurance company and filing a claim against an at-fault driver are two entirely different things. If you were injured as a result of a negligent driver, you have four (4) years in the state of Florida to pursue a claim against that driver. This is called the statute of limitations period. If you fail to file a lawsuit within this four-year period, you will be forever barred from pursuing any further claim against the at-fault driver.
If you have been injured in a Florida car accident, you can also file a claim with your own insurance company for personal injury protection (PIP) benefits. PIP coverage is a mandatory coverage that all Florida drivers are required to have. PIP will cover payment of 80% of your medical bills or lost wages up to a limit of $10,000. However, in order to preserve your right to the full $10,000, Florida law requires that you see a medical doctor (or chiropractor) within the first 14 days following the car accident. If you fail to do so, you will lose this coverage under your policy.
In certain cases, you can also file a claim with your own insurance company for your injuries if you have purchased uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage. UM coverage protects you in the event you are injured by a driver that either does not have bodily injury coverage, or does not have sufficient limits of bodily injury coverage to compensate you for your injuries. In such a case, you can then turn to your own insurance company and make a claim. The statute of limitations for UM benefits is five (5) years in the state of Florida. This means that if you have not filed a lawsuit within that timeframe, you will be barred from ever doing so.
What Are Some Common Symptoms Of An Auto Accident Injury?
Some of the most common injuries suffered in a car accident include spinal and brain injuries. While these are very serious injuries, many people are often unaware of the severity of their injury because they don’t know what the symptoms of these injuries are.
If you experience any of the following symptoms following a Florida car accident, you should immediately seek a medical evaluation.
Persistent mild headache.
Loss of memory, concentration, organizational ability or decision-making ability.
Difficulty reading or focusing.
Loss of energy or sex drive.
Change in sleep patterns, e.g. insomnia or oversleeping.
Loss of coordination or balance.
Sensitivity to light.
Ringing in the ears.
Mood swings or changes.
Loss of one or more senses.
Neck or back pain.
Pain and/or numbness in fingers or toes.
Shooting or consistent pain in the upper or lower extremities.
Trust SouthShore Injury Attorneys With Your Florida Car Accident Claim
After a car accident, it is important that you find a qualified Apollo Beach car accident attorney to handle your personal injury claim. The attorneys at SouthShore Injury Attorneys handle only personal injury claims, and are experienced in representing injury victims throughout the State of Florida. If you’ve suffered injuries in an Apollo Beach car accident, contact SouthShore Injury Attorneys at (813)419-3866 for a free consultation.
If you have questions about your Florida accident case, you can download our Free Reports:
What You Must Know if You Were in a Car Accident;
The Ultimate Guide to Florida Slip and Fall Cases; and
5 Medical Mistakes That Will Destroy Your Personal Injury Case
which are available at our website, or you can click the link provided. You can also contact us at (813) 419-3866 to talk directly to an Apollo Beach accident attorney now.