What is “Full Coverage Insurance” in Florida
One of the first questions we ask a new client who has been injured in a Florida car accident is “Do you have uninsured motorist coverage?” Inevitably, the response we get is “Yes, I have full coverage insurance.” The problem with this is that there is no such thing as “full coverage insurance” in the State of Florida.
Often times, when buying car insurance the agent will represent that what they are selling is “full coverage,” when in reality all they are selling are the minimum coverages that are required by the State. That’s why it’s important that when you go to buy car insurance, that you know what the State’s minimum requirements are, and then ask what additional coverages are available for you to purchase. While nobody likes to pay more for insurance, the coverages that are not required can often mean the difference between you being to pay for your injuries and treatment, or simply owing a bunch of doctors for your medical bills.
What is the Minimum
Insurance Coverage Required in Florida?
In the State of Florida, there are certain coverages that every driver is required to have. One coverage is meant to protect you in the event you’re injured, and the other is meant to pay for any damage that you cause to someone else’s vehicle. They are as follows:
Personal Injury Protection Coverage (PIP)
PIP provides you with up to $10,000 in coverage and will pay 80% of your initial medical bills and 60% of your lost wages in the event you are injured. PIP will also apply regardless of fault for the crash. That means that you can be 100% at fault and PIP will still pay for your medical bills and wages, provided you qualify. To qualify, you must seek medical treatment within 14 days of your accident. If you don’t, you will lose this coverage.
It should be noted that there is currently a push to eliminate PIP in the State of Florida. If signed into law, PIP would be eliminated and replaced by a mandatory level of bodily injury coverage. Bodily injury coverage protects you in the event you were to cause a crash and the other driver is injured. When a claim is filed against you for injuries, your bodily injury coverage will apply up to the limit of coverage that you purchased. Currently, bodily injury coverage is optional in Florida.
Property Damage Liability Coverage (PDL)
Like bodily injury coverage, PDL coverage protects you in the event you cause damage to someone else’s vehicle. It covers the other vehicle’s damage, but not yours.
Get the Help and Guidance You Need After
an Apollo Beach Car Accident
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, it’s important that you consult with a qualified Apollo Beach personal injury attorney. The attorneys at SouthShore Injury Attorneys have extensive litigation experience and handle only personal injury claims. If you’ve suffered injuries in an Apollo Beach car accident, contact SouthShore Injury Attorneys at (813) 419-3866 for a free consultation.
If you have questions about your Florida accident case, you can download our Free Reports:
which are available at our website, or you can click the link provided. You can also contact us at (813) 419-3866 to talk directly to an Apollo Beach car accident attorney now.